The Litigation Section of the State Bar of Texas

About The Award

The Luther (Luke) H. Soules III Award is presented each year by the Litigation Section at the Litigation Update Institute. The award is given to an attorney who embodies excellence in the practice of the law and exemplary service to the Bar. It is designed to recognize Texas legal practitioners who demonstrate outstanding professionalism and community impact.

The next award will be presented at the 2018 Litigation Update Institute. The recipient will attend the Litigation Update as a guest of the Litigation Section, attend the speaker’s dinner with their guest, and an honorarium will be made to a legal charitable organization of the recipient’s choice. The honorarium is in the amount of $1500.00. There is a short ceremony during the Institute and the recipient is given time to make short remarks.

Nominations will be reviewed by a select committee chosen by the Chair of the Litigation Section. Nominations must be submitted by November 15, 2017. The recipient of the award will be notified by January 1, 2018 and encouraged to attend the Litigation Update Course in Austin, Texas on Jan 11-12 to receive the award.

Nominations are emailed to The Person Designated By The Committee Chair. For this year’s award, it will be Paula W. Hinton at phinton@winston.com.

Selection Criteria And Rules:
The Nominee should embody the following:
  • Demonstrated commitment to equal justice under the law.
  • Conduct promoting the rule of law.
  • Outstanding examples of professionalism.
  • Community impact as a result of the practice of law.

The nominee must be an attorney admitted to practice law in the State of Texas for a minimum of 10 years and be in good standing with the Bar.

The Nominee cannot appear on a ballot in a contested race for elected office in the same year as nominated for the award.

The Nominee cannot currently serve as a member of the Litigation Section Council of the State Bar of Texas.

Nomination Application Information:
The nominator should provide the following information:
  1. Name, address, telephone number, and email for nominator and nominee.
  2. Provide (either in a curriculum vitae or in a one page synopsis) the following information about the nominee:
    • Schools attended (degrees, honors)
    • Professional affiliations
    • Published works and legal presentations
    • Other background information
  3. Submit a One Page Explanation stating the reasons why the nominator believes the nominee should be selected to receive the Luke Soules Award, again in the light of the Selection Criteria:
  • Demonstrated commitment to equal justice under law.
  • Conduct promoting the rule of law.
  • Outstanding examples of professionalism.
  • Community impact as a result of the practice of law.
  • One or more significant contributions to either the community where they reside, the State of Texas, or on a national level, as a result of legal representations and/or professional contributions.

Past Recipients:

Luther (Luke) H. Soules III – 2008
James E. Coleman Jr. – 2009
Dicky Grigg – 2010
Hon. Royal Furgeson – 2011
Kim Askew – 2012
George W. Bramblett Jr. – 2013
Eduardo Rodriguez – 2014
Stephen L. Tatum – 2015
David J. Beck - 2016 
James L. Branton - 2017 

© Copyright Litigation Section. All rights reserved. Legal Terms and Conditions | State Bar of Texas | Sitemap